Australia bats first vs West Indies in women's WT20 final

 03 Apr 2016 - 12:33

Australia bats first vs West Indies in women's WT20 final
West Indies's Hayley Matthews (R) celebrates with teammates after the dismissal of Australia's Alyssa Healy (C) during the World T20 cricket tournament women's final match between Australia and West Indies at The Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium in Kolkata on April 3, 2016. (AFP / Dibyangshu Sarkar)


KOLKATA: Australia captain Meg Lanning won the toss Sunday and decided to bat first against the West Indies in the women's World Twenty20 final.

Australia is looking for a fourth straight title while the West Indies is in the final for the first time.

The only time the two teams have met in the final of a global event was at the 2013 World Cup in Mumbai that Australia won by 114 runs.

Australia has won all eight previous T20s against the West Indies including four times at the World Twenty20.


Australia: Elyse Villani. Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning (captain), Ellyse Perry, Alex Blackwell, Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Megan Schutt, Rene Farrell, Kristen Beams.

West Indies: Stafanie Taylor (captain), Hayley Matthews, Britney Cooper, Shaquana Quintyne, Deandra Dottin, Stacy-Ann King, Shemaine Campbelle, Merissa Aguilleira, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Anisa Mohammed.