West Indies field first against Sri Lanka in World T20

 20 Mar 2016 - 17:15

West Indies field first against Sri Lanka in World T20
Chris gaylr training. (AFP)


Bangalore, India: The West Indies won the toss and opted to field first against Sri Lanka in their World T20 match at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Sunday.

The West Indies, who won the World T20 title in 2012, are riding high after demolishing England by six wickets in their opening Group 1 match thanks to a scorching century from opener Chris Gayle.

Defending champions Sri Lanka also notched up a win against lowly Afghanistan in their first group outing.

But the islanders have been struggling for form since winning the trophy two years ago and have slumped to seventh in the world rankings.

They suffered a blow on Saturday when veteran fast bowler Lasith Malinga, struggling with a knee injury, was sent home and replaced by 26-year-old leg spinner Jeffrey Vandersay.


West Indies: Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Dinesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Sammy (capt), Carlos Brathwaite, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Milinda Siriwardana, Angelo Mathews (capt), Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath.