Thrissur body announces winners of awards

July 07, 2010 - 11:19:40 pm


DOHA:  The Thrissur Jilla Souhreda Vedi (TJSV), a Qatar-based socio-cultural organisation of people from Trissur district in South Indian state of Kerala, has announced the winners of its annual Vedi Awards.

The awards are instated in the names of eminent personalities of yesteryears who hailed from Thrissur District and have imprinted their images in the social, cultural, media and literature fields. Each award carries Rs25,000, citation and a memento from TJSV.

In order to identify and nominate persons for conferring the award for the year 2008-09 an “Award Declaration Committee” was constituted under the chairmanship of prominent Qatar based businessman Adv C K Menon.

The C Achutha Menon Award for Exemplary Social Work, under the name of former Chief Minister of Kerala, is conferred on K Pankajakshan, a senior politician and a former minister.

K M Seethi Saahib Memorial Human Fraternity Award, instituted in the name of Ex-Speaker of Madras Assembly, educationalist and a valiant soldier of secularism, has been awarded to Aryadan Muhammed, a senior member of Indian National Congress.

The Mohammed Abdulrahman Saahib Memorial Award for the Best Media Personality, instituted in the name of the famous freedom fighter and editor of “Al Ameen”, is bestowed on Narasimhan Ram, the Editor-in-Chief of the Hindu daily.

Joseph Mundasserry Award for Outstanding Social work, in the name of a person who played a critical role in the Socio-Cultural, Literary, Educational and Political growth of the state of Kerala and India will be given to K V Rabiya.

The social worker despite her physical disability has built a movement of community service and has spearheaded a strong adult literacy campaign in Kerala. She started her own voluntary organisation called ‘Chalanam’ that was at the forefront of universal literacy campaign in Kerala and is also running five schools for physically handicapped and mentally retarded children

T V Kochu Bava Literary Award has been conferred on C Radhakrishnan who is  renowned writer and film director in Malayalam

The Behadoor Memorial Best Actor Award is conferred up on Sukumari, who has primarily acted in some 2000 Malayalam and Tamil movies.

Ramu Karyat Award for  Film Director, given under the name of the National Award Winner in Film Direction in 1964 for film Chemmeen, has been conferred upon Blessy, a director cum screenwriter who has made several critically acclaimed films in Malayalam.

The Special Vedi Award for Community activist is conferred upon Vavakunju Shihabudeen, a Riyad based social worker who has been contributing immensely to the welfare of Indian community in Saudi Arabic for the past several years.  

The awards will be presented to recipients in a public function to be organised in Kerala on August 8.

The Peninsula