BCCI chief Manohar to replace Srinivasan as ICC chairman

 09 Nov 2015 - 13:19

BCCI chief Manohar to replace Srinivasan as ICC chairman

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday decided to appoint its president Shashank Manohar as the new chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) after removing N Srinivasan for the rest of the term.

Srinivasan, who was elected for a two-year term, was scheduled to head the ICC till June 2016. The decision to replace him with Manohar was taken at the board's Annual General Meeting (AGM) here on Monday. Srinivasan's position as the president of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) is also under the scanner.

"BCCI's representative to ICC will be Manohar. He will take over as the ICC chairman. All members of the BCCI are unanimous to the decision taken and will work transparent in the upcoming days. Everybody in the meeting spoke about clean and clear work in the board," BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said.

Manohar said that to look into the complaints regarding conflict of interest, former Chief Justice of India A.P. Shah has been appointed.

"IPL governing council is headed by Rajeev Shukla and other members are Jyotiraditya Scindia, Ajay Shirke, M.P. Pandove and Sourav Ganguly. With regard to conflict of interest, an imbursement has been appointment by the board and former Chief Justice of India A.P. Shah will look into the complaints if any," Manohar said.

"So, whatever I had said after my appointment a month before, that we would clean up the systems and would try to run the board in transparent manner, we have done what we could and other things will be put in place in a short while from now."

Srinivasan, whose company India Cements owned Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK), ran into trouble due to a series of controversies over bribery and spot fixing in the IPL as he was charged with conflict of interest by the Supreme Court.

The former BCCI president's son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan -- the team principal of CSK -- was indicted for being involved in betting and spot fixing. He was banned for life from all cricket related activities.

The Supreme Court-appointed Justice Lodha Committee also suspended CSK and Rajasthan Royals from the IPL for two years.

The BCCI president mentioned there will be 12 Tests conducted at home in 2016, adding that Pune, Vizag, Ranchi, Rajkot, Indore and Dharmasala were the six venues which were given Test status.

"There will be 12 Tests played at home in the next year and Pune, Vizag, Ranchi, Indore, Rajkot and Dharmasala are the six venues which have been given Test status. As these stadiums have all the facilities to conduct a Test match, so we have given the Test status to them," Manohar said.