Sailing Regatta: Qatar win Optimist Team Racing event on opening day

 11 Oct 2016 - 21:50

Sailing Regatta: Qatar win Optimist Team Racing event on opening day

Armstrong Vaz / The Peninsula

Doha:  Hosts Qatar won the Optimist Team Racing event  on the opening
day of the five-day sailing regatta which kicked off from Katara Beach

India finished second while the second team from Qatar came third,
while the International team came fourth.

Competitors for Optimist class are born in 2001 or after and those in
the Laser 4.7 class must be born in 1999 or after, according to the
technical specifications of the event.

The overall winner in the Optimist class will get QR 3000 and the
second and third place winners QR2000 and QR1500. The organisers have
lined up more prizes in the Optimist section, with the top three
winners below the age of 12 receiving QR2000, QR1500 and QR1000

Sailors in the Optimist section above 12 years finishing in the top
three positions will receive QR2000, QR1500 and QR1000.

The youngest boy and girl in the Optimist section will each get QR
2000.  In the Optimist Team Racing, the first placed team will collect
QR3000 and the second and third position will fetch them QR 2000 and

Qatar have 16 sailors taking part in the international regatta.

The sailors from the host nation will compete with another 50 sailors
drawn from nine different countries including India, Iran, Kazakhstan,
Great Britain, Tunisia, Kuwait, Spain, France and Italy, according to
Qatar Sailing and Marine Sports Federation (QMSF).

The event is held in five categories. Optimist, Laser Radial, Laser
Standard, 470 and Hobie-16.

Kazakhstan with 20 sailors leads the field with the biggest delegation
in Doha followed by India with 16 sailors. Kuwait has sent seven
competitors for the event.

The regatta is governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of
Sailing (RSS) and World Sailing Equipment Rules of Sailing (ERS).

The regatta is open to boats of the Optimist, Laser 4.7, Laser Radial,
Laser Standard, 470 & Hobie-16 classes in the fleet racing. In team
racing with Optimist class, 8 teams (maximum 2 teams per country)
consisting of four or five sailors (maximum 3 of the same gender) and
a coach may be entered by their coaches or team leader.

After the Optimist Team Racing action on the opening day for the next
three day the sailors will be competing in different categories.  The
closing ceremony will be held on October 15.

Winners in the Laser 4.7, Laser Radial, Laser Standard, 470 and
Hobie-16 will each get QR4000. The second and third place winners will
take home QR3000 and QR2000 respectively.

Qatar sailing team : Kheireddine Bouchema, Ali Al Sharshani, Abdulla
Al Sharshani, Mohsin Al Sharshani, Mohammed Al Sharshani, Yacine
Benzarti, Ghanim Al Sewaidi, Mohammed Al Sewaidi, Abdulrahman Al Nasr,
Abdollah Ajineh,Mohammed Al Zaini, Waleed Al Sharshani, Ali Al Muftah,
Abdulrahman Ajineh, Faris Al Bakri , Hassan Al Baker, and Abdulla Al