Al Attiyah energy awards conferred

 25 May 2016 - 0:00

Al Attiyah energy awards conferred
H E Abdullah bin Hamad Al Attiyah (centre) presenting the award to Hamad Rashid Al Mohannadi during the 4th Al Attiyah International Energy Awards function at MIA yesterday. Dr Ibrahim Ibrahim, Economic Adviser at Emiri Diwan, is also seen. Pic: Kammutty VP/The Peninsula


DOHA: Hamad Rashid Al Mohannadi, the former CEO of RasGas, was honoured last night here as the 2016 recipient of The Abdullah Bin Hamad Al Attiyah Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement Award for the Advancement of the Qatar Energy Industry.
The Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah International Energy Awards, now in its fourth year, recognize individuals for their lifetime achievement in fields of work that have made a distinguished contribution to the global energy industry over the span of a career. Alongside Al-Mohannadi, Dr Majid A Al-Moneef, Advisor to the Royal Court of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, received the 2016 Award for the Advancement of Opec, and Adnan Z Amin, Director-General of the International Renewable Energy Agency, accepted the accolade for the Advancement of Renewable Energy.
The 2016 International Energy Award winners include Ali bin Ibrahim Al-Naimi, former Minister of Petroleum & Mineral Resources, Saudi Arabia; Adnan Z Amin, Director-General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA); Claude Mandil, former Executive Director, International Energy Agency; Dr Bassam Fattouh, Director, Oxford Institute for Energy Studies; and Margaret McQuaile, former Senior Correspondent, Platts.
‘’Excellence, creativity and passion are characteristics that are integral to our human spirit, but also to our success as professionals, and all the 2016 Award Winners have these qualities in abundance,” said H E Abdullah bin Hamad Al Attiyah, who presented the trophies to the distinguished group of nominees at the annual celebration held at the Museum of Islamic Art (MIA), Doha. “The Al-Attiyah Foundation is very proud to now have such an eminent alumni group of 30 winners recognized over the last 4 years,” he said.
Every year the nominees for the International Energy Awards for Lifetime Achievement are reviewed by an International Selection Committee of respected peers, which in 2016 included Abdalla Salem El-Badri, Secretary General, Opec, Dr Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency, Nasser Khalil Al-Jaidah, Board Member, QP, and Narendra Taneja, Chairman, Energy Security Group, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry, India.
The Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah International Energy Awards were conceived to celebrate the legacy of Al-Attiyah.

The Peninsula