England elect to field in first World T20 semi

 30 Mar 2016 - 17:48

England elect to field in first World T20 semi
England's Moeen Ali takes a catch to dismiss New Zealand's captain Kane Williamson during the World T20cricket tournament semi-final match between England and New Zealand at The Feroz Shah Kotla CricketGround in New Delhi on March 30, 2016. (AFP / PRAKASH SINGH)


New Delhi: England won the toss and elected to field against New Zealand in the first semi-final of cricket's World Twenty20 Wednesday at New Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.

Unbeaten New Zealand made two changes from the team which won their last match against Bangladesh, bringing back opener Martin Guptill who had been rested and replacing spinner Nathan McCullum with paceman Adam Milne.

England were unchanged from their last game against Sri Lanka on Saturday.

The victors will take on the winners of Thursday's second semi-final between the hosts India and the West Indies in Mumbai.


England: Eoin Morgan (capt), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Liam Plunkett

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan, Ish Sodhi

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Reserve umpire: Joel Wilson (WIS)